Week 4: Artist Interview – Maccabee Shelley

I walked in and I understood. I usually don’t get art, but this one… I really just got it right away. Maccabee really encompassed the challenges we encounter in life through these glass sculptures. Some pieces were of broken pathways where they showed foundations that have given away at your feet like when all your support is gone and you feel like you’re falling. He really showed that life is fragile and each step should be a weary one. The pieces I took photos of are the ones that really inspired me. There’s one in particular that looks just like a huge splash. To me it resembles jumping into deep waters but making a huge splash. Its resonance to me is that even big leaps can have big impacts, but the leap has to be a worthy and strong leap. IMG_3734 IMG_3731

Leave a Reply

